Sultan bin Ahmed crowns winners of Sharjah Padel Championship 2


SHARJAH, 1st July, 2024 (WAM) — Sheikh Sultan bin Ahmed Al Qasimi, Deputy Ruler of Sharjah and Chairman of the Sharjah Media Council, on Sunday awarded the winners of the three categories in the second edition of the Sharjah Sports Padel Championship.

The championship took place at the WPA Sports Complex in the Al Rahmaniya suburb of Sharjah.

Sheikh Sultan presented awards to the winners in three categories. Issa Al Shaibani and Mohammed Al Muhairi secured the top spot in the national category, while Bahraini Ali Diwani and Spaniard Jose Arcos clinched first place in the Gulf Cooperation Council countries and foreigners category. The Egyptian pair, Youssef Hossam and George Wakim, snatched first place in the international category.

Sheikh Sultan honoured the referees, handed over the second-place shield to the teams in various categories, and recognised the sponsors, supporters, and partners who organised the Sharjah Sports Padel Championship.

He was present at the final match of the international tournament, organised by the Sharjah Sports Channel in partnership with the WPA. The match was marked by intense competition and excitement, with players delivering exceptional performances and notable improvements in their skills since the first edition.

Lasted for six days, the tournament featured intense competition among 450 players from 26 countries, divided into three categories: UAE nationals, Gulf Cooperation Council countries, and foreigners. The event attracted participants from various countries, including the UAE, Oman, Qatar, Kuwait, and Bahrain.

Additionally, professional players from Spain, Argentina, and Portugal participated. The winning teams received AED205,000 in prizes, along with various valuable rewards given to the attending fans, totalling AED100,000. The tournament employed a knockout system for all matches leading to the final game.

The final match and coronation were attended by sheikhs, several heads of government departments, representatives of sponsoring companies, and fans.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here